Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So, did you do it?  Did you think about the questions I asked you on Saturday?  What if you had a bit too much to drink, and your partner put you in “time out”?  What if you didn’t know what you’d done to upset your significant other?  How did you respond and feel?

The exercise really wasn’t all that cleverly disguised, was it?  The responses and feelings you had were just the grown-up versions to the way children feel in similar situations.  They’ve had too much of something (overstimulated, let’s say – certainly not alcohol!), they’re having trouble reining themselves in, not sure what it is they’re doing wrong and only wanting to please you.

So what would be some other ways to handle such a scenario?  How would you prefer your partner to communicate with you in that first situation?  Let’s hear it, guys, I want to hear from you.  I will keep dogging at you until I get some answers!

Every Monday, I will put up some media resources for topics that we discussed in the week prior.  Last week, we talked about dealing with sleep, assertion, and anger.

  • For sleep issues, I really love the book, No Cry Sleep Solution by Elizabeth Pantley.  There is even an interactive website with advice of its own!  The book is useful for everyone, from parents of tiny babies to older children.  And the format is such that it’s easy to take what inspires you and leave the rest.
  • With regard to general issues of gentle parenting and challenging situations, I really love Dr. Laura Markham.  Her website, “Aha! Parenting,” has given me personally a lot to think about, and the direct link I’ve given here takes you straight to her “Discipline” page, where she discusses how to handle your own anger and why children behave the way they do.
  • Finally, as a teacher and a parent, I’ve absolutely fallen in love with Dr. Becky Bailey’s book, Conscious Discipline.  Her approach is all about reinforcing what the child is doing right, even when it seems they keep doing it wrong; getting down on the level with the child and engaging them, and giving their feelings a voice.  She has an engaging internet presence at her Conscious Discipline website, where she links to YouTube videos, information on upcoming workshops, various resources, and so on.  Dr. Bailey’s program is more geared toward the educational setting, but I was first introduced to her material well before my children were in school, and while I was staying home with them, and I am fairly certain I photocopied 93% of the book because it was all so relevant and made so much sense to me.

Good luck parents, and here’s to a fantastic week!

A.S.N.

