Tags

, , , , , ,

It started as a joke.  A cocky joke, at that.  I’d been re-reading my collection of books by Elaine Mazlish and Adele Faber, and feeling pretty good about things with my own kiddos, so I quipped to friends, “Sometimes, I see what’s going on around me, and I want to put myself out there as the Anti-SuperNanny and preach Gentle Discipline and the Innate Wisdom of Children.”

I didn’t expect people to take me seriously.

The next morning, however, my inbox was full of questions.  I realized, “Wow, this is a real thing.  Parents out there want gentle guidance, just like children do.”

The next thing I realized was that I don’t know everything.  I can’t fix everyone’s problems.  It’s a darn good thing that isn’t how I was trained.

I offer guidance, not advice.  Sometimes I will share suggestions that have worked for other parents.  Mostly, I ask questions about what works for you.  Just like when helping children solve their own problems, I will often restate the scenario presented to me in such a way that parents can have their own lightbulb moments.  Learning is so much more effective when it’s something we achieve ourselves.

Stay tuned.  More to come. 🙂  In the meantime, hang in there.  YOU know your kids best, you already have the answers.

Love,

J.B.

Email the Anti-SuperNanny your parenting questions:  anti.supernanny@gmail.com

